top of page
  • moyinoripeloye

Mental Health and Faith




DISCLAIMER; my aim is not to trigger but push you to make the right choices that work for both your body and soul at the same time. Also, I get personal but it’s not because I want you to pity me or pay me unnecessary attention. I’m just using examples I know very well, me and Christianity. So, let’s get into it.


Why is it that too many Christians when faced with the probability of suffering a mental illness are quick to “rebuke” it snapping their fingers murmuring grim God forbids? But the second that cancer diagnosis comes through or mere malaria, the influx of medication and treatments they allow to permeate their bodies is limitless. I fail to see the ideology that backs these acts up and in this blog post, I try to explain why.


I think that when it comes to mental illnesses, believers draw the line too soon and damn any consequences because somehow we have been taught to ignore the signs and even if they're noticed, we rebuke them. Few believers would be diagnosed with a serious disease, Covid-19 for example and decline medication. But those who accept medication do so not because they are afraid to die or that they do not have faith but because it is just normal to take care of your health. Why then would you notice signs of let’s say anxiety or PTSD and rebuke it when you should face it both medically and spiritually, if you wish. Why would you pray that depression disappears overnight and refuse to take any physical steps towards it (If you can help it)?



We need to get rid of this idea that believers do not suffer mental illnesses. Or that if it happens, it is demonic oppression. The same way not all physical illnesses are primarily spiritual warfare is the same way not all mental illnesses are spirit-based. By the way, I’m not saying prayer can’t cure depression. If prayer cures cancer, what is depression to it? But then, prayer will not cure every cancer the same way it will not cure every mental illness. Seek help! Yes, God has not given you the spirit of fear but of love, power and soundmind; but he did not ask you to neglect your mind. It is there in His books that pleasant words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the bones. If you do not admit that something is wrong, these pleasant words may likely not come to you and in turn, wellness deserts you. Now, the personal part...



I began to have anxiety symptoms before I even knew anxiety disorder to be what was happening to me. Maybe if I had known already, I would have thought that the romanticization of it through mainstream media inspired me to say I had it and I definitely would have ignored the symptoms. At the beginning, I thought I was just extremely shy. But I wondered why this realm of my shyness was just surfacing . My voice would quiver, my hands shook just from having unplanned encounters with people. Mind you, some of these people, I was very close with. It was confusing because I knew I did not have a problem with public speaking. Now imagine how conflicted I must have felt to have conversations and video meetings during the lockdown and will myself to focus and ignore that my temperature was rising or that I was muddling my words. And of all the symptoms that bothered me the most, it was the temperature and sweating part.



So I looked it up and of course, anxiety disorder was in every article Google presented me. Then I read and read and maybe even started to see in myself symptoms that I did not have. I told my parents and their suggestions were super helpful but it took a lot of sharing and explaining how afraid I was to be feeling that way before they took me seriously. I never took medecine to quell what was wrong but I’m just happy that I had a great support system at the time. My dear mother, of course, prayed for and with me but it did not stop there. The physical support went a long way too. And just maybe that is how I have been able to recognize what triggers me and I immediately remove myself from situations that would spiral me into a mess. Unless, it is something I really should do, there is nothing you want to tell me, I won’t do it if it won't give me peace.



Before I stray too much from the main message in this post, here it goes; I talked to God about these anxious feelings. In the midst of it, I would say stuff like my hands are shaking again or please help me to stay calm and at the same time joined online support groups and engaged in calming exercises. I also have sticky notes with affirmations written on them taped at strategic places in my room. I’ve never had to take medication for it most likely because my symptoms are not as severe as severe gets. But if you do take mental health medication, you should do so while trusting in the Great Physician and Healer that you will one day no longer take them. Also, remember that the same God who made available herbs and formulas that have been made into the antibiotics, etc. we readily take created the knowledge and wisdom that has been imparted into professional counsellors so acknowledge your mental illness if you have one, seek help in the right places, if you have to take medication, TAKE IT! Surround yourself with people who feel the same way and those who are ready to help. Do everything except just praying it away. If you will not pray your degree or dream job to just fall into your hands when you're doing nothing to make it happen, don’t do that with your mental wellness.



Summary of my story; the urgency with which you respond to physical illnesses should be the same (probably more) with which you respond to your mental needs.


“Mental pain is less dramatic than physical pain, but it is more common and also more hard to bear. The frequent attempt to conceal mental pain increases the burden: it is easier to say ‘My tooth is aching’ than to say ‘My heart is broken’ “ C.S Lewis.





204 views14 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page